13 Apps I Use as a Teacher

iPad 3G and iPad Wi-Fi

Image by Yutaka Tsutano via Flickr

Just the other day I posted a list of the iPad Apps I use in a personal capacity; so, I thought I would make a list of the apps I regularly use as a teacher. These are in no particular order.

My Favorite Teacher Apps

  1. Goodreader: This is just an awesome app for reading and annotating PDF files. I can give feedback on student essays, mark up pages from the textbook, present documents with the projector and write on them. I use this every day for something. This has been a big part of my attempt to go paperless in my classroom.
  2. Feeddler Pro: I use this RSS feed aggregator to easily track all of my students’ blogs for my classes. I group them by period and can tell by looking at the list for each period who has posted their assignment. I can then drill down from the app and go to their blog if I need to.
  3. Calculator Pro: I like having a big honkin’ calculator right there whenever I need it. This one is pretty handy. I got the pro version just so I wouldn’t have to look at ads.
  4. Dropbox: This is another app I use everyday. It makes moving files from my laptop to the iPad so easy. Not having this app would seriously diminish what I do everyday. I always have to move something.
  5. Pages: At first I was a little skeptical about a word processor on the iPad, but I find myself using this more and more.
  6. Keynote: I just like the simplicity of this Powerpoint alternative.
  7. Splashtop Whiteboard: I have an interactive whiteboard in my room. So, I hook up the laptop to the board and projector-run the little Splashtop piece of software on the laptop-fire up this app on the iPad and–Boom–I can write or type on the board from anywhere in the room. Plus, I can control my laptop from anywhere in the room.  Definitely one of my favorite apps.
  8. Kindle: I use this for just about all of the additional readings like novels that I assign.
  9. Instapaper: I use this to save articles I find on the web I think about using for class.
  10. PDF Printer: I got this out of necessity. As I mentioned above, I use Goodreader to provide feedback on essays. Well, at the start of the year I found myself in need of this app to convert their submitted files into a PDF just so I could get them into Goodreader and use all of its tools to write on their submissions.
  11. iPad Mail: It may seem a bit silly to include this on the list, but I like being able to see all the folders for my school account and the gmail account I set up for collecting homework at the same time. It also makes it very easy to move things into different folders, or even to the other account.
  12. Safari: I like the built-in browser Apple has on the iPad. So far I haven’t felt the need to use another browser app.
  13. Notes Plus: I am constantly jotting down things and this app fills the bill. I can sort things into different notebooks and I really like the handwriting ability.

Well, there it is: my list of favorite apps as a teacher.  There are some others I use, and I am always trying out new ones, but these are the ones I use regularly, if not daily.

Let me know which apps you like to use. I am always looking for the next great app.

11 responses to “13 Apps I Use as a Teacher

  1. Pingback: School Days–An App a Day… « awritablelife

  2. Instapaper…that’s a new one for me! I’m always running across articles I’d like to use, especially for dual enrollment. Could students use it themselves to gather research information? Interesting!

  3. Pingback: Useful Websites for Yearbook Advisers and Students « TechGeekTeacher

  4. Pingback: Laptops, iPads, and Projectors: A Puzzle for the Ages « TechGeekTeacher

  5. Pingback: 'Feeddler' just might be the best RSS reader for the iPhone and iPad | Digital Cupcake. Toasty news and tips for your digital lifestyle

  6. Pingback: 10 iPad Apps Every Teacher with a Blog Needs « TechGeekTeacher

  7. Pingback: A Great New IPad App for Students and Teachers « TechGeekTeacher

    • Thanks for taking the time to ask your question. I haven’t had anyone mention any problems with loading speed up to this point. But, I will definitely see if there is something I can do to improve and speed things up. Thanks for the heads-up.

  8. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in
    Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do
    with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you
    know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon.
    Kudos

So, What Do You Think?

