My Dirty Little iPad Secret

My clean iPad screen

My clean iPad screen

I guess if I was going to file this post away in a filing cabinet, it would have to go in a folder labeled “Confessions”. I freely admit that I am a bit of a strange guy. Especially when it comes to some things. There are aspects of my personality and how I do things in regards to certain situations that don’t correspond in a neat, tidy, linear 1-1 fashion to similar situations in other aspects of my life.

The case in point here is my iPad screen. Or, more precisely, my almost OCD-like compulsion that my screen be sparkling clean at all times.  This is definitely one of those areas that doesn’t track with other areas of my life. Anyone who knows me can tell that I am not in any way fastidious about how I dress, my housekeeping, or my car.  But, for some strange reason, my iPad screen has fallen into that strange, Twilight Zone-esque category of things that just have to be a certain way.

Given the way that the iPad is designed to work, I fear this could be the proverbial straw on the camel’s back. All this swiping, tapping, and pinching may push me over a smeared, smudged, finger print covered edge into the loony bin. But I won’t go without a fight.

I am almost always armed with some sort of electronic friendly moist towelette, microfiber cloth, or fancy looking dust swiping device of some sort.  Oh OK, I’ll admit it–I usually have all 3 of those things within easy reach. And a stylus.

My preferred form of electronics dusting towelette is actually ones that come in individual packets. The ones I normally use are actually for eyeglasses–at least that is what it says on the box. They do an excellent job: no streaking-very nice. I once tried some that came in a large container and was supposedly meant for gamers; they were marketed towards gamers for certain. I hated them. They left little fibers all over the screen. It was agony.

This week I decided to try some that came in a large container that also had a micro-fiber cloth in a special compartment in the lid. Wet clean and then dry. It is heavenly. No steaks or fibers anywhere. My only complaint is that I can’t get the towelettes to stay poked-up through the X-shaped slot on the dispensing side of the lid.  But I may be able to live with that.

In class one day I asked a student to show me something on the iPad. When they held the device up, I found myself looking at a screen encrusted with what can only be described as Cheetos dust. A substantial layer. Thick. Formidable. And alive with finger prints. I still have night terrors about that moment.

So there it is: my dirty little iPad secret. I have iPad clean screen OCD. Oops, gotta go. I think I see a smudge.

So, What Do You Think?

