Link of the Week: Idea Garden Blog

My Ipad

A Blog for Yearbooks

Since the first 3 post for the Link of the Week covered Neil Gaiman, Orson Scott Card, and Hack Education, I thought I would offer up something for yearbook advisers and students out there who are looking for a little inspiration. As a yearbook adviser for 12 years I know that I am always looking for inspiration. So, when I find a new place to fill that bill, I get pretty excited about it.

The Idea Garden Blog is a blog I stumbled across recently and really liked. It has a couple of nice sections showcasing some spread ideas and suggestions that many yearbook programs should find useful. In addition to the sections devoted to yearbook spreads, there are also sections that provide some tips and checklists.

There really is something here for everyone involved with yearbook program. Organization, sales, photography…you name it and the Idea Garden seems to have you covered with at least one post. While any adviser or student should be able to find some really useful resources or ideas here, a new adviser will really benefit from the material.

About the only knock I could give the site is that I wish that it was updated more frequently. But, knowing how a school year goes for yearbook advisers, I can’t really hold that against the site too much. When the yearbook really gets rolling, it can take up an insane amount of time outside of the normal class time. And if things aren’t going well it just gets worse.

What sites, or advice do you have for other yearbook advisers? What sites do you like to use for finding some inspiration?

So, What Do You Think?

